SYNOPSIS

THE BACKGROUND TO THE DOCUMENTARY

In 2011 Cuba instituted new economic reforms – the so-called “Lineamientos”. They aim to update the socialist economic model and prevent the country from the economic crisis until at least 2030. To survive, the Caribbean island must adapt to the challenges of the world market.

Cuban socialism should absolutely be maintained and refined, rather than abolished. However, many European economists see the reforms as the beginning of the end of Cuban socialism. The gradual opening of the Cuban market, loosening of restrictions in relation to the US, and the

death of Fidel Castro strengthen the opinion in Europe that Cuba will change rapidly. There has been a rush of tourists on the socialist island desperate to experience the supposed “charm of the Castro era” before it changes.

01

THE STORY

Noodles was barely 5 years old when he was forced to leave his native country of Cuba. When he was old enough, he returned from exile and travelled to his homeland – in search of his cultural roots. He conversed with locals who told him about the current crisis and the urgently needed reforms. He learned about viewpoints of the proud Cubans he encountered, as they described their history and their future, in a country that is fighting for survival and so full of contradictions. On this journey through the furthest reaches of the island, Noodles discovered Cuba’s new and old industries, meeting both those who stand to benefit and those who will suffer as a result of the new reforms. At the end of it all, he felt he understood why socialism is still of great importance to Cuba.

02

THE DIFFERENCE

“Experiment Socialism” shows the everyday life of Cubans, which differs from clichéd postcards of colorful images. Instead, the film takes a look at examples of everyday Cuban reality: farmers working in the fields, on the coconut plantations, in the jungle, in the villages, and privately in their more urbanized neighborhoods during a time of great upheaval. A look at Cuba’s past and the change in Cuba’s day-to-day experience illuminates some of the upheaval facing the country today. But many contradictions remain. The uncertainty and skepticism of the residents toward this ageing ideology is obvious.

03

THE IDEA BEHIND

The idea behind the film is a cultural exchange with the audience. The film conveys the culture and history of Cuba and its impact to the presence from the perspective of the Cubans and the Western world. The controversial issue relating to Cuba’s development offers many approaches to intergenerational conversation, mutual respect and understanding to learn from each other. Especially exciting is the view of the young and old generation of Cuba on the future of their country.

Menu

SYNOPSIS

DER HINTERGRUND ZUM DOKUMENTARFILM

2011 startete Kuba neue Wirtschaftsreformen – die “Lineamientos”. Sie sind ein Leitfaden, um das sozialistische Wirtschaftsmodell zu aktualisieren und das Land bis 2030 aus der anhaltenden Krise zu retten. Um zu überleben, muss sich die Karibikinsel den Herausforderungen auf dem Weltmarkt anpassen.

Der kubanische Sozialismus soll dabei zwingend erhalten und weiterentwickelt werden. Viele europäische Ökonomen sehen die Reformen jedoch als das schleichende Ende des kubanischen Sozialismus. Die schrittweise Öffnung des kubanischen Marktes, gelockerte Beziehungen zu den USA

und Fidels Tod stärken in Europa die Meinung, dass Kuba sich rasant verändern wird. Es gibt einen regelrechten Tourismusansturm auf die sozialistische Insel, um den vermeintlichen Charme der Castro-Ära noch zu erleben, bevor er zerfällt.

01

DIE GESCHICHTE

Noodles war kaum 5 Jahre alt, als er sein Land Kuba verlassen musste. Nach langer Zeit kehrt der Exilkubaner zurück und bereist die alte Heimat, auf der Suche nach seinen eigenen Wurzeln. Er führt Gespräche mit Einheimischen, die ihm von der aktuellen Krise und den dringend notwendigen Reformen berichten. Dabei lernt er die Sichtweise der stolzen Kubaner auf ihre Geschichte und auch ihre Zukunft kennen, in einem Land, dass ums Überleben kämpft und voller Widersprüche steckt. Auf seiner Reise durch entlegene Orte entdeckt Noodles die alte und auch neue Industrie Kubas, trifft auf Gewinner und Verlierer der neuen Reformen und erfährt, warum der Sozialismus für Kuba noch immer eine große Bedeutung hat.

02

DER UNTERSCHIED

“Experiment Sozialismus” zeigt den Alltag Kubas, der sich von klischeehaft bunten Bildern unterscheidet. Stattdessen zeigt der Film einen Blick auf die Realität der Kubaner: Bauern auf dem Feld, Arbeiter auf der Kokosplantage, im Dschungel, in den Dörfern und privat in ihren Vierteln leben in einer Zeit voller Umbrüche. Der Blick auf Kubas Vergangenheit und die kubanische Sichtweise sensibilisieren den Zuschauer, die gegenwärtigen Herausforderungen des Landes zu verstehen. Die unverblümte Meinung des Volkes, ihre liebenswürdigen Eigenarten und ihr Einfallsreichtum bewegen das Publikum. Aber viele Widersprüche hinterlassen ein Gefühl der Ohnmacht und Skepsis über das Bestehen einer kühnen Ideologie in unserer gar übermächtigen Welt.

03

DIE IDEE

Der Film vermittelt die Sichtweise der Kubaner sowie die der westlichen Welt auf die Kultur & Geschichte Kubas und deren Wirkung bis in die Gegenwart. Das kontroverse Thema rund um Kubas Entwicklung soll einem gemischten Publikum diverse Ansätze für generationsübergreifende Gespräche bieten, um gegenseitigen Respekt und Verständnis füreinander zu fördern und voneinander zu lernen. Ganz besonders spannend sind die Unterschiede in den Blickweisen der jungen und alten Generation Kubas auf die Zukunft ihres Landes.

Menü